The key to establishing in-product Experiences as an effective communication channel with your users is to avoid overwhelming or pestering them with the same Experiences.
You may have users that fall into multiple target audiences and they could be shown too many Chameleon Experiences in quick succession. You can restrict this with our Rate Limiting (also known as Experience Throttling) functionality.
Note: This feature is only available on the Growth and Enterprise plans; if you'd like to gain access to Rate Limiting or increase the number of Limits you can set, contact us to discuss your options.
📺 You can watch the video below for a quick overview of Rate Limits and how to configure them.
It's normal to target the same users with multiple Experiences. But the secret to in-product guidance is making sure your uses have a delightful, blockage-free flow, and not get distracted from their goal with too many 'asks'.
When creating your Rate Limiting rule, you can target:
All Experiences (Tours + Microsurveys)
All Tours (applies only to Announcement Tours)
Tours and Microsurveys with specific Tags
Individually selected Experiences
When you set a Rate Limit, all these Experiences will automatically be considered for limited display. But you will still be able to manually exclude some of these to make sure all critical information reaches your users 😉
💡 Rate Limiting is not applicable for Walkthrough Tours that are shown when the user manually engages them (e.g. via Launcher or Links). It's the same case with Tooltips, which always show when triggered manually.
⨇ General Rule: Microsurveys have a higher priority than Tours. If you add a Rate Limit for All Experiences, all Microsurveys will be checked to see if they should be shown before Tours are checked.
🎯 You can configure multiple Rate Limits for specific Experiences and audience Segments, and set the frequency you want those Experiences to be shown to users over a period of time (e.g. 1 Tour per hour).
⨇ General Rule: When Rate Limiting is applied, users that have seen the set number of Experiences in the timeframe established will not be shown any subsequent Experiences until the Rate Limiting time period is over.
Experiences that are dismissed, or snoozed will still be included as part of the Rate Limiting you set – so will only show again once Rate Limiting no longer applies to that user.
You can add a new Rate Limit by clicking the "+ New Rate Limit" button on the Rate Limiting section within your Dashboard.
Give it a title and decide what set of Experiences you want to limit from the drop-down list. Most commonly, you'll apply these limits to your entire audience of users but you can also configure a specific Segment you want these Experiences limited to, while not limiting others.
Finally, add in the number of times you want them to show over a period of time by setting the Frequency and Period.
Once the set frequency has been reached, none of the selected Experiences will display until the time period has passed. Your users will thankfully use your product and engage with your live Experiences. 😌
Note: For accounts with roles enabled, only Admins may adjust Rate Limiting settings.
For critical Experiences that Rate Limits should never apply to (e.g. Status Alerts), you can click the "🚫 Add exclusion" button below the Rate Limits panel and prevent that Experience from ever being limited.
Pick an individual Tour or Microsurvey from the drop-down list and that Experience will not be considered within the pool of Rate Limited Experiences. When an excluded Experience is shown to the user, it does not count against any active limits set.
🪄 Chameleon Tip: We recommend that you only add exclusions for the most crucial or important Experiences.